Town Council

Our local governing body consists of six council members and a mayor, all of whom are elected at-large by qualified voters residing inside the town limits.  Elections occur in even-numbered years, with members serving staggered four-year terms.  One councilmember is appointed each January to serve as vice-mayor.  The 2019 council membership is as follows:

E. Collin Adams, Jr.                                                collin.adams@townofhurtva.gov

Shirley M. Barksdale-Hill                                        shirley.barksdale-hill@townofhurtva.gov         

Lorraine M. “Rainy” Clay                                        rainy.clay@townofhurtva.gov           

Randy A. Doss                                                       randy.doss@townofhurtva.gov

Donney F. Johnson                                                donney.johnson@townofhurtva.gov

Gary N. Poindexter (Mayor)                                   mayor@townofhurtva.gov

Steven W. “Steve” Watson (Vice-Mayor)               steve.watson@townofhurtva.gov


Committees for May-November 2019

Administration:  Johnson – chair,  Doss – vice chair,  Barksdale-Hill – member

Economic Development:  Clay – chair,  Johnson – vice chair,  Adams – member

Finance:  Watson – chair,  Clay – vice chair,  Doss – member

Public Works:  Adams – chair,  Barksdale-Hill – vice chair,  Watson – member


2019 Town Council
Pictured above is the Hurt Town Council as of July 16, 2019.  Seated from left to right are:  Rainy Clay, Mayor Gary Poindexter, and Shirley Barksdale-Hill.  Standing left to right are:  Collin Adams, Vice-Mayor Steve Watson, Donney Johnson, and Randy Doss.                                

 

Page last updated:  Wednesday, July 17, 2019 at 2:16 PM