Town Council

Our local governing body consists of six council members and a mayor, all of whom are elected at-large by qualified voters residing inside the town limits.  Elections occur in even-numbered years, with members serving staggered four-year terms.  One councilmember is appointed each January to serve as vice-mayor.  The 2020 council membership (as of April) is as follows:

E. Collin Adams, Jr.                                                collin.adams@townofhurtva.gov

Shirley M. Barksdale-Hill (Vice-Mayor)                  shirley.barksdale-hill@townofhurtva.gov         

Jeffery L. “Jeff” Bowling                                          jeff.bowling@townofhurtva.gov

Lorraine M. “Rainy” Clay                                        rainy.clay@townofhurtva.gov           

Gary K. Hodnett (Mayor)                                        gary.hodnett@townofhurtva.gov

Kathy H. Keesee                                                    kathy.keesee@townofhurtva.gov

Steven W. “Steve” Watson                                     steve.watson@townofhurtva.gov


Committees for 2019-20 (updated April, 2020)

Administration:  Clay – chair,  Barksdale-Hill – vice chair, Bowling – member

Community Development & Public Relations:  Watson – chair,  Adams – vice chair,  Keesee – member

Finance:  Vacant – chair, Watson – vice chair,  Barksdale-Hill – member

Public Works:  Adams – chair,  Bowling – vice chair,  Clay – member


 

Page last updated:  Friday, May 1, 2020 at 4:07 PM