Town Council

Our local governing body consists of six council members and a mayor, all of whom are elected at-large by qualified voters residing inside the town limits.  Elections occur in even-numbered years, with members serving staggered four-year terms.  One councilmember is appointed each January to serve as vice-mayor.  The 2020 council membership (as of March 11) is as follows:

E. Collin Adams, Jr.                                                collin.adams@townofhurtva.gov

Shirley M. Barksdale-Hill (Vice-Mayor)                  shirley.barksdale-hill@townofhurtva.gov         

Lorraine M. “Rainy” Clay                                        rainy.clay@townofhurtva.gov           

Gary K. Hodnett (Mayor)                                        gary.hodnett@townofhurtva.gov

Jeffery L. “Jeff” Bowling                                          jeff.bowling@townofhurtva.gov

Steven W. “Steve” Watson                                     steve.watson@townofhurtva.gov

Vacant Seat (TBA)


Committees for 2019-20 (updated March, 2020)

Administration:  Clay — chair,  Barksdale-Hill — vice chair, Vacant — member

Economic Development:  Watson — chair,  Adams — vice chair,  Bowling — member

Finance:  Vacant — chair, Watson — vice chair,  Barksdale-Hill — member

Public Works:  Adams — chair,  Bowling — vice chair,  Clay — member


 

2020-Council-Photo-02042020

Hurt Town Council as of February 4, 2020.  Seated left to right are:  Rainy Clay, Mayor Gary Poindexter,
and Shirley Barksdale-Hill.  Standing:  Steve Watson, Collin Adams, Vice-Mayor Gary Hodnett, and Jeff Bowling.

 

Page last updated:  Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 11:33 AM