Town Council

Our local governing body consists of six council members and a mayor, all of whom are elected at-large by qualified voters residing inside the town limits.  Elections occur in even-numbered years, with members serving staggered four-year terms.  A vice-mayor is elected by the council each January from its membership.  For the 2017-18 council term, membership is as follows:

Colin Adams                                                              colin.adams@townofhurtva.org

Norman Bivens (Vice-Mayor)                        vicemayor@townofhurtva.org

Michael Blackstock                                              michael.blackstock@townofhurtva.org

Rainy Clay                                                                   rainy.clay@townofhurtva.org 

Donney Johnson                                                    donney.johnson@townofhurtva.org

Tommy Neal                                                              tommy.neal@townofhurtva.org

Gary Poindexter (Mayor)                                  mayor@townofhurtva.org

 

Committees for 2017-18

Budget & Finance:  Neal – chair,  Clay – vice chair,  Blackstock – member

Economic Development:  Bivens – chair,  Johnson – vice chair,  Neal – member

Human Resources, Legal & Police (HRLP):  Johnson – chair,  Adams – vice chair,  Clay – member

Public Works & Relations (PWR):  Blackstock – chair,  Adams – vice chair,  Bivens – member

 

 

The 2017-2018 Hurt Town Council convened for its first meeting on Tuesday, January 3, 2017, fifty years to the day after the original council met for the first time on January 3, 1967, thus marking a half-century since Hurt incorporated as a town.  Pictured below are (front row and seated, L to R):  Rainy Clay, Mayor Gary Poindexter, and Michael Blackstock;  (back row and standing, L to R):  Colin Adams, Vice-Mayor Norman Bivens, Donney Johnson, and Tommy Neal. 

council-2017-18

Photo courtesy of Ron Rowland

 

Page last updated:  Saturday, March 4, 2017 at 1:57 p.m.