Staunton River Regional Industrial Facility Authority (SRRIFA)

SRRIFA at SVMP 02082019
Officials from Pittsylvania County, Town of Hurt, Town of Altavista, and City of Danville convened for the organizational meeting of the Staunton River Regional Industrial Facility Authority (SRRIFA) on Friday, February 8, 2019 at Hurt Town Hall.  Upon adjournment, they assembled at the entrance sign to Southern Virginia Multimodal Park (SVMP) for a group photo. SRRIFA, now fully operational, was formed to attract and facilitate industrial/commercial development at SVMP.

SRRIFA was formed in early 2019 following more than a year of negotiation and legal steps to construct the framework within which it would operate.  In a somewhat new and different situation than other Virginia RIFA’s, four localities decided to join in regional partnership with one mutually beneficial common goal in mind — commercial/industrial development of Southern Virginia Multimodal Park (SVMP) in Hurt.

SVMP is Hurt’s foremost economic development priority.  With recent designations as a Virginia Enterprise Zone and a federal Opportunity Zone, the property has been approved for nearly $100,000 in Virginia Economic Development Partnership VBAF grant funding to assist with aesthetic and/or other site improvements. 

We are open to a myriad of possibilities for the SVMP.  Based on new insights in 2018, we now place particular emphasis on logistics and envision the site as a future nexus of regional and/or global commerce.  Currently, that appears to be the best niche for this particular property. 

SRRIFA Board of Directors (2019)

*Pittsylvania County

   Elton W. Blackstock, Supervisor (Chair)

   Ben L. Farmer, Supervisor

   Dr. Charles H. Miller, Supervisor (Alternate)

*Town of Hurt

   Gary N. Poindexter, Mayor (Vice-Chair)

   Steve W. Watson, Vice-Mayor

   E. Collin Adams Jr., Councilmember (Alternate)

*Town of Altavista

   Mike E. Mattox, Mayor

   Wayne E. Mitchell, Councilmember

   Reggie C. Bennett, Councilmember (Alternate)

*City of Danville

   Sherman M. Saunders, Councilmember

   Fred O. Shanks III, Councilmember

   L. Lee Vogler, Vice-Mayor (Alternate)

SRRIFA Staff (2019)

   Secretary:  Hollye M. Keesee, Executive Assistant, Pittsylvania County Administration

   Treasurer:  Kim VanDerHyde, Finance Director, Pittsylvania County

Meeting Agenda Packets

Special Notice (posted Thursday, May 16 at 9:25 PM):  The SRRIFA meeting previously planned for Friday, May 17 has been canceled due to multiple scheduling conflicts.  The meeting is expected to be rescheduled in the near future.  An announcement will be posted on this page once the new date is known, in keeping with FOIA requirements.

May 17, 2019

April 12, 2019

February 8, 2019

Meeting Minutes

April 12, 2019 (Pending Approval May 17 Next Meeting)

February 8, 2019 (Initial/Organizational)


Page last updated:  Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 9:28 PM