John L. Hurt, Jr. Elementary Initiates Junior BETA

JLHES JR BETA Induction 10292019
On Tuesday, October 29, 2019, twenty-seven fourth and fifth grade students were inducted into Hurt Elementary’s first National Junior BETA Club chapter during an evening ceremony.  Distinguished speaker was Mr. Clarke Scott, Chairman of the Virginia   BETA Council and former JLHES teacher.  Joining Mr. Scott in conducting the ceremony were Principal Kathryn Lowry and Faculty Sponsors Lindsey Tanner, Monica Colbert, and Lori Goad.  Congratulations to all students, parents, school personnel, along with everyone in the JLHES community who contributed toward this endeavor — you have made us proud!


Clement Hill Painting Donated To Town

Clement Hill Painting
A beautiful painting of Clement Hill, the beloved homestead of our town’s namesake Mr. John L. Hurt, Jr., was given to the town by Mr. Dwight Ingram of The Villages, Florida in memory of his mother, Mrs. Hazel Mattox Ingram Seawell, who passed away August 31, 2019.  Thank you, Mr. Ingram, for your thoughtfulness in this very appropriate addition to our memorabilia.

Hurt received designation as a Purple Heart Community in 2018.  

PH Comm Sign

We salute all of our veterans and thank them for their service.

Congratulating McCormick’s Riverside Arena

November 19, 2017

For the second straight year, and following their second annual truck and tractor pull in August, the National Tractor Pullers Association (NTPA) presented McCormick’s Riverside Arena with two awards for the 2017 season:  most friendly track and best promoted track.  Congratulations to the McCormick family, and thank you for investing in our community.

2017 Awards


Hurt Appreciates Most Senior Citizen

April 7, 2017

Mr. Sam Cothran, 97, of the Prospect Road community was recognized as our town’s most senior citizen during our Community Anniversary Reception on April 2.  Mr. Cothran, who served on Hurt’s original town council when the town incorporated in 1967, was presented an award for his seniority, outstanding citizenship, and years of service to the local community.  Congratulations, Mr. Cothran, and many thanks!


Sam Cothran

Photo courtesy of Rita Hodges


                                      Fire Chief Recognized For Outstanding Service

February 4, 2017


Hurt Volunteer Fire Department Chief Brian Dudley was recognized at an awards banquet on January 28 for 16 years of superb leadership for his department.  Dudley, who officially stepped down at the end of last year, was presented with a beautiful award adorned with a gold fireman’s axe, plaque, and medals (see picture below) as an expression of gratitude for his service to the community and contributions to the department.  We salute Chief Dudley for all he has done and continues to do for the benefit and protection of our citizens.



          Photo courtesy of Ron Rowland


The R.L. Mattox Family:  We Recognize Three Generations

   January 7, 2017

For Hurt, 2016 was a year of transition and progress, and 2017 marks the fiftieth anniversary of our town’s incorporation in 1967.  Though appropriate at any time, this new year accentuates our remembrance of those who occupy special places in our hearts and histories. 

During the course of improvements made last year, the commemorative sign atop the gazebo entrance at Roosevelt Mattox Park was replaced.  Mr. Mattox was Hurt’s longest serving Police Chief, with a tenure spanning 22 years (1968 to 1990).  He was the father and grandfather of R.L. Mattox, Jr. and R.L. Mattox, III, respectively, and is remembered by many for his years of outstanding service to our community. 

While visiting Town Hall last month, R.L. Mattox, Jr. and his son, R.L. Mattox, III were given a memento that their family will treasure for years to come.  Following a time of reflective conversation, the town presented the Mattoxes with the old sign to take home with them as a family keepsake.  A snapshot from that afternoon has been shared below.



Above, L to R:  R.L. Mattox, Jr., Hurt Mayor Gary Poindexter, and R.L. Mattox, III.  Photo courtesy of Susan Frazier, Clerk



 Page last updated:  Wednesday, January 8, 2020 at 9:03 PM