Hurt and the surrounding communities are served by a dedicated and competent team of volunteer firefighters.  They play an indispensable role in protecting our lives, health, homes, and more.  We deeply appreciate each member of the Hurt Volunteer Fire Department for the sacrifices they make and the risks they assume, and we commend them all for their service.

Benefit Raffle for the Hodges Family: 


HVFD is currently selling raffle tickets as a fundraiser to assist one of its own members, Ed Hodges, whose wife Carol has struggled with a series of major health issues over the last year.  Carol’s health conditions have proven both difficult and costly to diagnose and treat.  This benefit raffle is to help Carol and Ed with additional expenses they will incur when going to Vanderbilt University in September for further evaluation and treatment. 

Ed serves our community with dedication and hard work, both as an experienced firefighter and as our town’s public works director.  Likewise, Ed takes good care of his family.  During this challenging time, anyone feeling inclined to give back to a family who has given so much to our community is encouraged to do so.  

Please see any member of the HVFD or stop by Town Hall to purchase tickets in this gun raffle, which are $5 each or $20 per book.  The drawing is set for September 11.  First prize is the winner’s choice of a Glock G19 9mm or G23 .40 S&W and range bag.  Second prize is a Marlin XL7 .270 Winchester with scope.  Prizes are provided by SOVA Firearms.  

We thank you for your support, and wish Carol and Ed the very best.



Above:  Deputy Chief Jason Colbert and Chief Eric Colbert, at their swearing-in ceremony on January 28, 2017.  (Photo courtesy of Ron Rowland).

HVFD 8-22-16

Front Row, L to R:  Fire Lieutenant Matt Taylor, Captain Larry Morris, Deputy Chief Jason Colbert, Chief Eric Colbert, Captain Bryan Daniel, Lieutenant Matt Colbert, Jason Lovelace.  Back Row, L to R:  Cory Dunn, Sam Clay, Thomas Page, Matt Lukin, Dylan Leach, Richard Gregory, Sidney Shelton,        Ed Hodges, Ian Hall, Joe Simpson, Jessie Dalton, Jakob Dalton.  Behind camera:  Mike Moorefield.


HVFD Facebook Page



This page last updated:  Sunday, July 16, 2017 at 3:37 PM